Mission No. 2: Don’t worry, be happy!

IMG_1795The state of my home this morning: The vacuum is in the middle of the kitchen. The floors are still dirty. The dining room table is home to a pile of fabric for a project. The entryway still bears all the evidence of our outdoor adventures over the weekend. My closet is a pile of dirty laundry. The chair in my room is under a pile of clean laundry. The floor in my room is home to a collection of laundry baskets. The floor in my big boys’ room is a minefield of small toys sure to get me come nap-time. Please, don’t even look in the upstairs bathroom.

The flip-side of the coin: My oldest, P, is happily sorting his cars on the train table.  The middle guy, S, is wearing a blanket-cape while flying an airplane around the house. My baby, R, is watching the two of them from his bouncy seat gnawing on a wooden rattle. Our favorite album of kids music plays in the background. The library books strewn around the room have been read over and over and over again since last week’s story time. And, thank goodness, my coffee mug is still full!

When you look at it like that, it shouldn’t be hard to concentrate on the flip-side, right? There are days when that is a big struggle for me. I feel a major shift in my mood immediately after the house has been vacuumed. I really believe I can see clearer once the dust is gone, both literally and figuratively. But, some days, it just doesn’t happen.

You know what does happen, though? LIFE. This crazy, beautiful life I have created for myself. It doesn’t care if the sink is wiped clean or if the compost pail is overflowing. So, why should I? So, why should I? Starting today I won’t. Well, let’s be real, starting today I will try not to. Some days will be a magnificent triumph, and some days I will go to bed knowing I could have been better. And then I will remember: There’s always tomorrow.

Here’s to more happiness among the mess.

IMG_1796

Future Mess-maker

Leave a comment